Faculty committee recommends a formal program in molecular engineering

A faculty committee, chaired by Prof. Steven J. Sibener and convened by Chancellor Robert J. Zimmer and then-Provost Thomas F. Rosenbaum, finds multiple compelling reasons for the creation of a molecular engineering program.


Cobb Gate

University Senate, Board of Trustees endorse creation of Institute for Molecular Engineering

After two ad hoc committees chaired by Prof. Sibener and one external committee chaired by Robert Langer, David H. Koch Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, endorse a molecular engineering program, the Council of the University Senate votes to create the then-Institute for Molecular Engineering (IME) and the Board of Trustees endorses the vote.


Photo of Matthew Tirrell

Matthew Tirrell joins as founding director

Matthew Tirrell, a pioneering researcher in the fields of biomolecular engineering and nanotechnology, joins then-IME as its founding director, forging the way for a new kind of engineering program.


Photo of Matthew Tirrell

First faculty hires

The molecular engineering program makes its first set of faculty appointments, including Profs. David Awschalom, Juan de Pablo, Nancy Kawalek, and Paul Nealey to provide senior faculty leadership.

Scroll to Top